The Crusading Couch episode 6: game reviews!

April’s episode of The Crusading Couch is here and ready for the listeners!
This month we tested out a new episode format where we review (for lack of a better word) three RPGs. We outlined their settings, touched on the rules, discussed the various pro’s and con’s of the games, and then suggest who might enjoy these games.

The three games we talked about were: Eclipse Phase, New World of Darkness, and Star Wars: Edge of the Empire.

Reminder that tomorrow is the last day of this months writing challenge. Raymond feels a little behind so he’s got a lot of typing to do today!

If you enjoyed this podcast; please like us on Facebook, or follow us on WordPress, SoundCloud, and Twitter.

Farewell from the past, I’m Raymond.

2 comments

  1. One thing about the New World of Darkness stuff. Kim was saying that he finds there are too many things left up to GM discretion in terms of rules. NWoD 2nd Edition actually kind of addresses that, in that there are standard rules for all the things that before we were just going “Ok, we’ll give them a -2 to their attacks because you’ve just stabbed them in the arm.” Will and I actually find that the whole thing is just giving a whole bunch of rules to things that honestly don’t need them, and making the whole system seem a lot more clunky and less intuitive.

    … I’m also apparently the only person who enjoys playing ridiculously powerful characters in WoD, and think it works fine.

    I also think that our issue with critical failures is that the majority of our storytellers don’t give enough penalties. We come across chance die a decent amount in our changeling game, because Will gives us proper penalties and we will often actually go ahead with our roll regardless because we have the chance. So it does depend on both players and GM. The penalties are also there in place of margins of success. When a GM adds margin of success to WoD, it actually becomes really frustrating because you end up in this pattern of “I got a success, so I should succeed.” “But you don’t because you have to get the number of successes that I decided on.” “Well you should have given me penalties to my roll.” “Have some penalties.” “I got a success with these penalties, why don’t I succeed?” “Because you have to get the number of successes I decided on.”

    … In summary, margin of success is measured by penalties. More successes are often described as succeeding better. And never add the need for more than one success arbitrarily.

    Raymond needs to hide his bias better. 😛

    Like

    1. I REFUSE TO HIDE MY BIAS! nah, my comments at the end of the nWoD were meant to be humorous. I clearly don’t hate the system, I actually ran a game of Changing Breeds recently. https://insertquesthere.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/changing-breeds-catch-up/

      Your point about penalties, and them serving as margins of success is quite interesting. It’s something I hadn’t considered before and shall have to remember when I run/play nWoD in the future.

      Like

Leave a Reply

