The Crusading Couch episode 3: letting go.

In this episode, we take a crack at the topic of ending stories, campaigns, and  letting go of your characters; both in death and retirement. We didn’t realise how hard this topic would be to talk about until we started recording, but hopefully you find it interesting and entertaining.

If you like our content, please subscribe or like us on Facebook.
We’d also love to hear from you. You can find our contact information on our about page.

Farewell from the past, I’m Raymond.

2 comments

  1. Will is partially correct about the characters. Firstly, there’s not really much of a “before you joined our gaming group” for it to have “happened a lot”. We were playing a single 4th Ed DND campaign and then the DM decided to upgrade to Pathfinder (which had just been released), so two of us kept the same characters when you guys joined because it was like the 3rd-6th run? Xandramon and I wanted to actually play these characters that we had made, regardless of how much effort it was to convert (which really wasn’t much, it’s just one fantasy setting to another).

    I’ve done the same thing with another character, in which I went to all the effort of making it and then the DM, for various reasons, changed the campaign 5 times, the world 3 times, all within like 10 runs. I refused to change characters because I spent a lot of time and effort on it, and I wanted to actually play the character I made.

    The non-fantastical may not be boring to you, but it is to a number of us. It’s just our preference.

    I think that the point we all thought it should have ended was around when Raymond’s original character died? Or when his second character left? I don’t know, one of those things was a solid ‘yep, main plot is wrapped up, end game’. Xandramon and I were quite enjoying ourselves and we made the mistake of saying that we’d like to continue if the campaign did.

    … I want to mention for Will’s character’s death, my character (who I was actively trying to get killed because I hated playing her) was actually standing over his body protecting him and the GM either ignored that fact or forgot. I was going to mention it after, but Will didn’t seem to care that his character had died at the time so I let it go.

    I actually hated playing that “surviving” character for a while, I was 100% done with her. Will can attest to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok, I’m going to try and explain the Realms of Light thing. I put this in a separate comment so it can be deleted if you like.

    It’s not necessarily that you had too much plot, its more that the plot was too set. We had to do very specific things for it to work the way you wanted and you wouldn’t let us do anything differently. That’s not just in terms of plot either, one thing I quite vividly remember was in a combat I described how I was doing a thing, and then when I made the roll you described what happened as something completely different from what I had said.

    While I’m here, on an unrelated note, we shouldn’t need successes to see obvious landmarks like a massive dam when we ask for a layout of the area.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

